World Series of Poker (WSOP): Battle of the Poker Champions

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is an annual gaming tournament series that takes place in Las Vegas. Benny Binion during an invitational event in 1969 dubbed as the Texas Gambling Reunion, thought of an idea to have set of tournaments. In 1970, Binion came up with the WSOP inviting seven of the most popular players to the Horseshoe Casino for a match.

The series of games held during the inaugural WSOP include five-card stud, deuce to seven low-ball draw, razz, seven-card stud, and Texas hold 'em. The WSOP events are normally done in June and July. Johnny Moss was the first WSOP winner. The WSOP continued to prosper in the succeeding years.

Phil Hellmuth holds the record of having the most number of WSOP final table wins. He has also won the Main Events in WSOP and WSOP Europe. WSOP Main Event champions include Jamie Gold who won the biggest tournament prize pool in history, Antonio Esfandiari, Daniel Colman, and Daniel Negreanu.

WSOP winners are reflected to be the World's Champions of Poker and are given cash prize depending on entrant number and buy-in amounts plus a WSOP winners bracelet.

Every year, the WSOP facilitates its Main Event, the $10,000 no-limit hold'em and grows its event numbers. In fact, the WSOP already has 65 events consist mostly of game variants as of 2014. This made number of entrants grew in thousands. However, since 2006, a new online gambling rule limited the number of the event participants.

Winning in the WSOP does not only give a bulk in a pocket, rather, a give a title that will surely make players feel that they are real champions in the Poker world. Hence, the career of a player reaches its peak once he has received his WSOP bracelet, a living proof of his being one of the WSOP winners.